Back Row: Mr J. Cresswell; Mr T. Glaum
Middle Row: Mrs N. Godfrey; Mrs G. Borgstrom; Ms C. Kulz; Mr P. Tyler; Mr M. Rushby;
Seated Mr I. Ryan; Mrs D. Hunt; Mrs J. Roberts

Governing Body

The drafting of a report such as this is always a wonderful opportunity to step back and consider where we are as a school; our goals and our aims, and also whether we as a school and a governing body are serving the children to the very best of our ability. In so doing, are we relevant in our community?

To my mind SVPS has been singularly successful in all of the above as it strives to nurture and produce children that “Excel today in order to lead tomorrow”.  One only needs to reflect upon the many academic, sporting and cultural achievements obtained this year, and reported on elsewhere in this magazine, in order to realise that not only is SVPS a shining light as an educational institution in the community, but also in the broader context within the Southern Suburbs, the Western Cape Province and nationally.

It has been a privilege and a pleasure to serve the children (and parents) of SVPS this year under the incredible leadership of Ian Ryan and his senior management team, who continue to take our school to new heights.

My sincere thanks must go to my fellow parent and staff governors who have given tirelessly of themselves for no reward other than to strive for excellence at SVPS, namely, Paul Tyler, Janice Roberts, Georgie Borgstrom, James Cresswell (parents) and Debbie Hunt, Nikki Godfrey, Claudette Kulz, Mark Rushby and Ian Ryan (staff).

Finally, I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the dedicated parents who contribute with their time and deeds behind the scenes towards the running of the school in ensuring that SVPS consistently remains the leading co-ed primary school in our province. THANK YOU!

To all who are travelling over the festive season I wish you safe travelling mercies and look forward to seeing you again in the new year. Have a blessed Christmas and a restful, festive holiday.

Trevor Glaum (Chairman, SVPS Governing Body)